Call for Papers



On behalf of ANZATS and the Conference Planning Committee I am pleased to invite all members of ANZATS, NZATS, and the theological and wider academic community to submit proposals for papers at the 2019 ANZATS conference. Proposal abstracts should be no more than 250 words in length and include your full name and academic title, institutional affiliation, and email address.

We particularly welcome papers on the conference theme of Missional Theology, but will also accept papers on other topics related all theological disciplines. There are also a number of specific streams you might consider submitting a paper to.

Proposals for papers on the general topic of the conference, or on topics not associated with one of the streams below, should be emailed to Dr Myk Habets, at [email protected]  by no later than March 30, 2019.

Dr Myk Habets

Download the flyer here

The following provides more specific details on the ANZATS call for papers for each of the specific streams.

Stream One: Lukan Scholarship

Convenor – Dr Sarah Harris ([email protected]

All papers related to Lukan literature and themes are welcome.


Stream Two: Theological Education Shaped by Context and Opportunity

Coordinator – Cathy Harris ([email protected])  


Stream Three: Barth Studies

Convenor – Dr Michael O’Neil ([email protected])

All papers related to Barth studies are welcome.


Stream Four: Leadership and other issues in practical theology.

Co-convenors – Cath Mckinney and Dr Darren Cronshaw 

Please email submissions to [email protected]

Practical theology seeks to integrate theological reflection and practice. It is not merely a sub-discipline for ‘applied’ study, but an integrative endeavour at the heart of theological education. It seeks to learn from biblical, historical and other theological studies, as well as from experience and context. This interest group, focused in practical theology, invites input and collaboration on the nature and practice of leadership needed for contemporary church, society and theological education. It will explore questions around the nature and practice of missional leadership needed for contemporary ministry and mission contexts, including:

  • congregational transformation

  • pioneering new initiatives
  • community development and neighbourhood mission
  • public theology and advocacy
  • aligning social service and educational agencies with the mission of God
  • implications for theological education and missional training
  • And/or other related issues in practical theology.

Papers are welcome from practical theologians, and from others bringing their disciplinary perspectives and experience to these questions. Case studies are especially welcome, as are co-presented papers from pairs of scholars and/or practitioners. Co-convenors of this forum are Cath Mckinney and Dr Darren Cronshaw. Please email submissions to [email protected].   


Stream Five: Apocalyptic Literature

Coordinator – Dr Jon Newton ([email protected])

All papers related to Apocalyptic literature and themes are welcome.


Stream Six: Studies in Worship and Liturgy

Coordinator – Dr Kieran Crichton ([email protected])

All papers related to worship and liturgy across the Christian traditions are welcome.


Stream Seven: New and Emerging Scholars

Coordinator – Dr Myk Habets ([email protected])


Stream Eight: Theology and Science

Coordinator – Dr Nicola Hoggard Creegan ([email protected])


ANZATS Award for New and Emerging Scholars

Doctoral students in the final year of their studies, and those who have completed a doctorate within the past 2 years, are invited to submit a full paper for consideration for the inaugural ANZATS Award for New and Emerging Scholars. The award is for the best academic essay in a theological discipline by new and emerging scholars. One award will be considered for each ANZATS annual conference.  

The purpose of the award is to support new and emerging scholars to communicate their research among their peers and to encourage such scholars into the field.   

The author whose essay is recognized will receive free fees to the Annual Conference, and a certificate. In addition, their paper will be considered for publication in Colloquium, subject to peer review. The Award will be presented at the Annual meeting. All finalists’ papers will be invited to be read at the Conference in a dedicated New and Emerging Scholars stream. ANZATS reserves the right not to make the Award during any given year.  

To enter a submission please email Dr Myk Habets at [email protected] the following:

  1. Your full name and email address
  2. Institutional details of where you are studying and what award you are enrolled in
  3. A letter of support from your primary supervisor
  4. Your complete paper which should be between 4,000 – 6,000 words in length.

The deadline for submissions is March 13, 2019.  

Criteria for Selection: The essay demonstrates scholarly excellence in terms of content, style, clarity, and professional appearance.

ANZATS New and Emerging Scholars Award Committee:

  1. The Award Committee is composed of four ANZATS Members who are engaged in the life of the Association.
  2. The members of the Award Committee are appointed by the President of ANZATS with consultation of the Board.
  3. Members of the Award Committee are appointed each year.
  4. The Award Committee may seek other readers among the ANZATS membership for review and evaluation of essays according to the purpose and criteria of the award.
  5. The Award Committee selects the best article by April 30, 2019.
  6. With the approval of the ANZATS Board, the committee chair notifies the winner and the runners up and invites finalists to read their papers at the Annual conference.  Others will be notified that they have not won the award or been chosen as finalists.
  7. Members of the Committee:
    1. Myk Habets, Chair, Vice-President (NZ) ANZATS
    2. Megan Powell du Toit, Colloquium editor
    3. Mark Lindsay, ANZATS President
    4. Gemma Tulud Cruz, Vice-President (AUS) ANZATS